Halloran and Bobango Loyalty Award

Pat Halloran receives the Fraternity's Distinguished Achievement Award from Past International President John Bobango.

MEMPHIS, TN - At the 2017 Academy, Patrick W. “Pat” Halloran III (Nebraska-Omaha, Delta Chi '62) was awarded the Judge Elbert P. Tuttle Distinguished Achievement Award. Established in 1936, the Distinguished Achievement Award is presented annually to the alumnus member who has achieved the most distinguished resume in his vocation, profession or field of public service. It is named after Elbert P. Tuttle (Cornell, Beta Theta ’17), a veteran who served in both World Wars, then as Chief Justice of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals from 1961-68, and as a Senior Justice until his death in 1996. Under Tuttle’s leadership, the Fifth Circuit became recognized as a leader in the fight against segregation.

Halloran is a major gifts officer with The Church Health Center in Memphis, Tennessee, a faith-based provider of healthcare and wellness services to low-income workers and others, and former president and CEO of the Memphis Development Foundation which operates the Orpheum theater.

During his 35-year career with the Orpheum, the theater booked more than 2,500 performances of over 300 Broadway productions, attracting 5 million visitors. The Orpheum also saw two major renovations under his leadership totaling $20 million.

Among his notable milestones while at the Orpheum, the Broadway League presented Halloran with “The Outstanding Broadway Executive Award” in 1999. He won his first Tony Award in 2003 as producer of Thoroughly Modern Millie and another in 2005 for Spamalot. Halloran received his third personal Tony Award in 2010 when Memphis won Best Musical.

Before being hired by the Memphis Development Foundation to manage the Orpheum in 1980, he served the Fraternity as a Field Secretary, National Rush Director, and Executive Director from 1969-80. Most recently, he served the Pi Kappa Alpha Foundation as a trustee from 2000-02.

As Executive Director, Halloran enjoyed and participated in a period of unparalleled growth and development. During his 11 years as the head of the Fraternity, 40 chapters were installed; he established the Presidents’ Conference which would later become the Chapter Executives Conference; and the first National Rush film was professionally produced and spurred substantial interest in Pi Kappa Alpha.

In 1995, he received the Fraternity’s Loyalty Award and was inducted into the Foundation’s Order of West Range in 1996.

Halloran is also credited as the founder of The National Order of Omega which has nearly 500 chapters today. In addition, he was a founder of the Independent Investors Network, an alliance of close to 100 theaters such as the Orpheum that book touring stage shows.

Over the years, Halloran has served on numerous boards, including the Board of Governors of the Broadway League in New York, Memphis in May International Festival, the Memphis Convention and Visitors Bureau as Chairman for three years, and the Memphis & Shelby County Music Commission. He also served multiple terms as president of the Independent Presenters Network, a consortium of 100 theaters across North America and Japan.

Halloran received his bachelor of arts in speech, radio, and television from the University of Nebraska at Omaha in 1965, and his master’s degree from the University of Miami in 1970. He completed the executive finance program at Wharton School in 1977.

Halloran is the author of “The Orpheum - Where Broadway meets Beale,” the history of the Orpheum Circuit and the Orpheum in Memphis.

The Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity is proud to honor Patrick W. “Pat” Halloran III with the 2017 Judge Elbert P. Tuttle Distinguished Achievement Award.

Halloran joins the ranks of these recent past recipients:

2017 – Patrick W. “Pat” Halloran III (Nebraska-Omaha, Delta Chi '62); Major Gifts Officer, Church Health Center

2016 – Joseph J. Plumeri (William and Mary, Gamma ’64); Vice Chairman of First Data Board of Directors

2015 – R. Andrew Miller (Florida State, Delta Lambda ’70); President & CEO, Seminole Boosters Inc.

2014 – Ivor J. “Ike” Evans (Kansas State, Alpha Omega ’61); retired President & COO of Union Pacific Railroad

2013 – Joe T. Ford (Arkansas, Alpha Zeta ’57); Partner, Westrock Capital; Former CEO, Alltel

Kenneth W. Lowe (North Carolina, Tau ’70); Chairman, President & CEO, Scripps Networks

2012 – Jon L. Kyl (Arizona, Gamma Delta ’61); U.S. Senator from Arizona

2011 – G. Brint Ryan (North Texas, Epsilon Delta ’83); Chairman & CEO, Ryan

2010 – Edward S. Hyman Jr. (Texas, Beta Mu ’65); Chairman & Founder of International Strategy & Investment (ISI)

2009 – R. Scott Van Pelt (Maryland, Delta Psi ’88); Anchor and Correspondent, ESPN

2008 – Raymond L. Orians (Memphis, Delta Zeta ’66); Executive Vice President Emeritus, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity

2007 – Pete Sessions (Southwestern, Alpha Omicron ’76); U.S. Congressman, Texas

2006 – Edward A. Pease (Indiana, Delta Xi ’71); Senior Vice President, Government Relations, Rolls Royce North America, Inc.

2005 – B. Kevin Turner (East Central, Epsilon Omega ’85); COO, Microsoft Corporation

2004 – Charles O. “Chad” Holliday (Tennessee, Zeta ’67); Chairman & CEO, DuPont

2003 – Neal L. Patterson (Oklahoma State, Gamma Chi ’68); Chairman & CEO, Cerner Corporation

2002 – Tim McGraw (Louisiana-Monroe, Eta Omicron ’86); Country Music Artist


For more information contact the Pi Kappa Alpha Foundation at (901) 748-1948 or