2016 Order of West Range Inductees

Alumni Inducted into Order of West Range

2016 Order of West Range

The Pi Kappa Alpha Foundation is honored to introduce the 2016 Order of West Range. L to R: Retired Marine Lt. Gen. Robert "Boomer" Milstead, Jr. (Houston, Epsilon Eta '71), Dr. James L. Melsa (Iowa State, Alpha Phi /57), Andy Hendrickson (California-Berkely, Alpha Sigma '84), Michael L. Ainslie (Vanderbilt, Sigma '62), and Dennis Lauscha (Alabama, Gamma Alpha '88).

MEMPHIS, TN – Established in 1986, The Order of West Range recognizes outstanding alumni of The Pi Kappa Alpha International Fraternity for achievement in their careers, service to society or service to the Fraternity. This honor is bestowed every other year to a select group of men representing government, business, entertainment, sports and many other fields.

The Pi Kappa Alpha International Fraternity is honored to welcome these five gentlemen into the Order of West Range.

  • Michael L. Ainslie (Vanderbilt, Sigma ’62)
  • Andy Hendrickson (California-Berkeley, Alpha Sigma ’84)
  • Dennis Lauscha (Alabama, Gamma Alpha ’88)
  • Dr. James L. Melsa (Iowa State, Alpha Phi ’57)
  • Retired Marine Lt. Gen. Robert E. Milstead Jr., (Houston, Epsilon Eta ’71)

Michael Ainslie (Vanderbilt, Sigma ’62) has enjoyed a long career in business and not-for-profit leadership. In 1984, he became President and CEO of Sotheby’s, the worldwide auction and real estate company. Over the next decade, he led a team that changed the global auction business into the lively private collector auction world of today. In addition to strengthening Sotheby’s 85 global offices and sales rooms, he led expansions in Russia, Japan, Korea, and Israel. Ainslie served as the first Chair of the Posse Foundation board, partnering with founder Debbie Bial to make Posse the country’s leading college access program for inner city public high school graduates. Additionally, Ainslie has served on many boards, including Vanderbilt University, the United States Tennis Association, the St. Joe Company, the International Tennis Hall of Fame, and Lehman Brothers. He was recently involved in a campaign to establish the Sigma Leadership Fund, a scholarship for members of the Colony at Vanderbilt held by the PIKE Foundation. Ainslie, a Tennessee native, graduated from Vanderbilt University where he served as Sigma Chapter treasurer before completing a term as president of the student body. After traveling abroad on a Corning Foundation World Travel Fellowship, he attended Harvard Business School, receiving his MBA in finance in 1968.

Andy Hendrickson (California-Berkeley, Alpha Sigma ’84) began his career at Skywalker Sound, a division of Lucasfilm after working his way through college as a sound engineer for live concerts and clubs. As the current CTO of Activision Publishing, he leads technology fueling two of the world’s strongest gaming brands, Call of Duty and Destiny. His previous work for Lucasfilm’s Industrial Light and Magic, Dreamworks, and Walt Disney Animation Studios, can be seen in 80+ motion pictures spanning two and a half decades with highlights from live action and animated films such as Jurassic Park, Perfect Storm, Pearl Harbor, Minority Report, Star Wars, Shrek, Frozen, Wreck it Ralph, Big Hero6, and most recently Zootopia. Hendrickson served as two term president of Alpha Sigma Chapter in 1987 and 1988, graduating with a degree in physics in 1989.

Dennis Lauscha (Alabama, Gamma Alpha ’88), president of the New Orleans Saints since 2012, oversees every aspect of the club’s day to day operations. He has also served as president of the New Orleans Pelicans NBA Club since 2012. Active throughout the community, Lauscha currently serves on the Visiting Committee of the Loyola University School of Business, as a member the NBA’s Team Advisory Council of Presidents and Team CBA Advisory Committee, the NFL’s Ticketing Strategy Working Group, the Stuart Hall School Board of Trustees, and on the New Orleans Museum of Art Board. He has completed terms as board president of the Preservation Resource Center and president of the regional chapter of the Boy Scouts of America. Additionally, he has served as a member of New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu’s Blight Transition New Orleans Task Force, the Super Bowl XLVII Host Committee, the NBA All-Star Game Host Committee, and the NCAA Final Four Host Committee.

His professional and charitable work has been recognized by New Orleans CityBusiness when Lauscha was selected as one of the 40 Most Influential Members of the Community. In 2010, he was named Alumnus of the Year by Loyola University of New Orleans’ College of Business and was named to the 2010 Class of Role Models by the Young Leadership Council. He was honored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation/College Football Hall of Fame with its 2014 Distinguished American Award.

Lauscha graduated from the University of Alabama with a bachelor’s degree in business, where he became close friends and chapter brothers with notable football successes Dabo Swinney (‘89), head football coach at Clemson University, and Todd France (‘90), NFL agent at CAA Sports. He received a master’s of business administration from Loyola University in New Orleans and is a licensed Certified Public Accountant. He has also completed the NFL Managers Program at Stanford University's Executive Education Graduate School of Business. Prior to joining the Saints, Lauscha worked as the club's auditor for four years while working for a national accounting firm.

Dr. James L. Melsa (Iowa State, Alpha Phi ’57) is Dean Emeritus of the College of Engineering at Iowa State University. A distinguished scholar, an award-winning educator and a visionary corporate leader, Dr. Melsa served as dean of the Iowa State University College of Engineering from 1995-2004. During his years in academia, he conducted significant research on control and estimation theory, speech encoding, and digital signal processing; earned recognition as one of the nation's most-outstanding electrical engineering professors; and authored or co-authored 125 publications and 12 books. Dr. Melsa received both a bachelor and master of science in electrical engineering from Iowa State where he served Alpha Phi Chapter as president and treasurer. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Arizona, Tucson. As an alumnus member, Melsa served the Fraternity as district president.

Retired Marine Lt. Gen. Robert E. Milstead, Jr. (Houston, Epsilon Eta ’71) served with distinction in progressive leadership roles within squadrons, Marine Aircraft Groups, Marine Aircraft Wings, and select staff positions throughout his career. He led Marines in Somalia and Iraq accumulating over 4,000 flight hours during peacetime and combat operations including Operations Restore Hope (Somalia), Provide Comfort (Northern Iraq), and Iraqi Freedom. He ultimately served as commanding general for U.S. Marine Corps Recruiting Command and later as deputy commandant of the Marine Corps for Manpower and Reserve Affairs.

Milstead, graduated with a bachelor of arts in English from the University of Houston and was commissioned a Second Lieutenant the following year. While attending college, he joined Epsilon Eta Chapter where he served as both sergeant at arms and treasurer. Milstead is proud to call his father, Robert Evans Milstead Sr. (Texas, Beta Mu ‘48) and brother, Randall Andrew Milstead (Texas, Beta Mu ‘10) Pi Kappa Alpha brothers too.

Previous Order of West Range inductees include Senator Thad Cochran (Mississippi, Gamma Iota ’50), Lance Alworth, Sr. (Arkansas, Alpha Zeta ’59), Tim McGraw (Louisiana-Monroe, Eta Omicron '86), Josh Bernstein (Cornell, Beta Theta '90), and Harland Sanders (Florida, Alpha Eta '65). For a full listing of previous inductees, visit www.pikes.org/OWR.
For more information contact the Pi Kappa Alpha Foundation at (901) 748-1948 or pikeinfo@pikes.org